other-names-for-gluten
Other Names For Gluten

Is this gluten free? Are you sure? Gluten is a protein found in some grains, wheat, barley and rye are most notable. Gluten can hide under pseudonyms, some are just other names for flour, some are ingredients made from gluten containing grains. Watch out for these:

Products Typically Made From Wheat

Unless these are specifically labeled “gluten free” or in the case of tortillas “corn tortillas” these products are typically made with wheat flour and contain gluten. Some corn tortillas will contain wheat flour, so always check the label.

Bread
Pasta
All purpose flour
Flour
Flour Tortillas
Matzo
Pita bread
Couscous (just a really small pasta)
Cake
Pie crust
Muffins
Other baked goods and pastries
Products Typically Made From Barley

Many varieties of alcohol are made with barley. If you’re going to imbibe, stick with a gluten free beer brand, vodka or rum. And never, ever, ever, get malt in your milkshake.

Malt
Malt Vinegar
Beer
Whiskey
Scotch
Whoppers Malt Milk Balls
Grains and Flours That Contain Gluten

Wheat
Barley
Rye
Spelt
Bran
Flour
Graham flour
Farina
Durum
Semolina

click to read more